More Touch-and-Goes

Today’s lesson brought me to the last line of the first page in my logbook.Β 9 takeoffs and landings today, bringing me up to 32 of each. We used runway 2R so it was all right base. I want to see if left base is easier! Maybe Fairbanks winds will turn later this week.

1015130011

Today was the first time I found water mixed with the gasoline. About 4 thimbles of water from the fuel strainer – woah! Definitely made me pay more attention to the rest of the preflight.

Super calm evening – no winds!

1 simulated engine failure today and CFI4 used it to demonstrate a slip. Looked like he was showing off for the plane holding short at runway 2R :D. Totally cool to just come straight down. Sideways.

Most of the time we did our ‘dragging the strip’ exercise again. I’m more centered on the runway centerline today, but it desperately needs work. I’m waiting to hear the tower personnel just laughing at me. I’m self conscious because I noticed tower watching today as I checked the fuel levels in the wings (Probably thinking it’s ridiculous that I need to grab a ladder every time; if I were 6 inches taller, I wouldn’t need a ladder, I’ve tested this πŸ˜€ ). Anyways, landings: my left hand is probably exerting too much pressure on the yoke, leading to my need to correct what started out as absolutely beautiful finals. Me, having terrible muscle control, would then botch the whole thing by using too much rudder (in both directions), not enough ailerons. Darn it.

Fright 1:Β Today was the first time that I was consistently low on turn to final (PAPI with 4 reds, ahh!). For my non-aviation friends, PAPI = precision approach path indicator. You’ve probably seen them on your commercial flights. Anyways, those trees on the island past the end of the runway were looking way too close for comfort. When’d they get so high?

Precision Approach Path Indicator [aviationlawmonitor.com]
Fright 2: One time we were 10 feet off the ground, but weren’t over the end of the runway yet. I’m glad the instructor knew we were going to make it (without adding power) because my physics senses didn’t have a good feeling about that one.

My new cushion allowed me to see the cowling of the plane for the first time! Sadly, it is not a magic fix for everything….and I usually still had to stretch my neck up to see the centerline. Going for 2 pillows next time.

β€”~β€”~β€”~β€”~β€”~β€”~β€”~β€”~β€”~β€”~β€”~β€”~β€”~β€”~β€”~β€”~β€”~β€”

Things to work on:

  • 1000 rpm before applying brakes
  • Use right rudder when adding full power!
  • Right rudder on climbing turns. Also reduce angle of attack by a degree or so in climbing turns.
  • Downwind leg: first, pitch to level at pattern altitude, let airspeed increase (to 85 knots in the 150), and then reduce power.
  • I still turn slightly towards the runway on downwind instead of going parallel.
  • Tap lightlyΒ on the rudder peddles to stay on centerline, I’m much too lead-footed.
  • I pull back way too much trying to stay inches off the runway. CFI4’s movements were so small they were barely noticeable.

β€”~β€”~β€”~β€”~β€”~β€”~β€”~β€”~β€”~β€”~β€”~β€”~β€”~β€”~β€”~β€”~β€”~β€”

I’m usually the last person to fly in the evenings – meaning I get the unenviable task of protecting the plane from frost. Here isΒ the 150 tucked in for the night:

1014131850
The 150 all tucked in for the cold night with an engine blanket, wing covers, and elevator covers. Not sure where the windshield cover went. If CFI2 asks, it was CFI4 that did this parking job (oops, we’re not quite on the green marks). Oh no, we forgot to plug in the oil pan heater!
2 thoughts on “More Touch-and-Goes

  1. That’s cute, a 150 in a pajama! πŸ˜€ About the fuel strainer… sometimes depending on the airport’s fuel tank or several cold nights with high humidity I have found full drainer-cups of water and only in the second cup avgas appeared. It is always a good idea to check the blue color + the smell. It could all be water. πŸ˜‰ Happy landings!

    Like

Leave a Reply

